History of the monument
Explore the history of the monument!
Discover the ruins of a spiritual centre, the seat of the largest medieval monastic order in Western Europe.
Independent and powerful. The abbey, placed directly under the protection of Rome, was founded by William the Pious in 910. Its abbot acted as a mediator between the Pope and the political powers that be. Cluny was the mother-house with 1,400 daughter-houses. It was sold as a national asset in 1798, and the abbey was torn down and its church all but destroyed.
To ensure the safety of our visitors, the monument is strictly applying the security measures decided by the french authorities.
The monument is fully opened.